My Favorite Crochet Stitch Pattern

I have a favorite stitch pattern that I have used for years to make hats, scarves, neck warmers, cowls and so many other things the list is too long to mention. I have just finished a pair of fingerless gloves in a lemon lime bamboo silk yarn using this stitch in my etsy store: my etsy store

For many years I did not know what it was called. The knowledge if this was handed down in my family and it was also taught to me. I have shown many friends and taught them the technique only to admit that I didn’t know what it was called. It is always the stitch pattern that others comment on and ask me how I do it as it produces a very unique and pretty design with both solid and variegated yarns.

After many inquiries and searching I was lucky to find a tutorial from another bloggers post called the crochet spot’s that had finally answered the question I had searched years for. The stitch has been referred to as “the block stitch” or “crazy shells”.

It looks so complicated but it’s basically a series of double crochets worked in a diagonal strip.

Please check out the gloves and I will also post the link from the crochet spot I found. I would love to hear what you all think of it.the crochet spot

20130321-185450.jpg

20130321-185458.jpg

20130321-185508.jpg

3 thoughts on “My Favorite Crochet Stitch Pattern

Leave a Reply

